Free teacher training

Loka Hatha Yoga offers free teacher training for yogis seeking to volunteer with the Sheriff's Office, or provide other public service. Your help is needed. Whether you have no prior experience, or lots of prior experience, we need your help.

We invite you to participate and contribute. Contact, or (970) 778-2835 for more information

The Four Ashramas

The Ashramas or stages of life are four, viz.,
  • Brahmacharya, the stage of student life;
  • Grihastha, the stage of householder life;
  • Vanaprastha, the stage of seclusion (forest-living);
  • and Sannyasa, the stage of total renunciation.
Each order of life has its own duties. In none of these stages must a man grasp at the special duties of the other three.

At the present moment, it is difficult to maintain or observe the exact details of the ancient rules, as the conditions have changed very much. But, if we can have a clear idea of the fundamental duties of each, we shall still be able to shape the life through a regulated course of development and steady growth…

Sri Swami Sivananda